Seven Passes

Route devised by Simon Parry

256 Miles

Route Published: June 19, 2016

#Haydon Bridge #Alston #Hartside #Melmerby #Pooley Bridge #Ambleside #Great Langdale #Ennerdale Bridge #Loweswater #Braithwaite #Buttermere #Borrowdale #Keswick

Route Description

Please note that this is a rather long and demanding route. We will take in Hartside pass and all six major Lakeland passes. The distances may look small but the riding will be slow at times, with some very steep and rough roads. This will therefore be a long day in the saddle so please be prepared.

Depart Seaton Burn services – A1 – A69 to Haydon Bridge, A686 to Alston then Hartside Pass. Stop at Hartside Café for coffee. (53 miles.)

Down Hartside Pass through Melmerby to Pooley Bridge. Down Ullswater and over Kirkstone Pass. Down the Struggle through Ambleside to Great Langdale. New Dungeon Ghyll for lunch. (96 miles.)

Wrynose Pass and Hardknott Pass. Through Ennerdale Bridge and Loweswater. Whinlatter Pass. Brief rest in Braithwaite. (145 miles.)

Newlands Pass to Buttermere then Honister Pass into Borrowdale. Keswick then A66 to Rheged Visitors’ Centre   , Penrith. (181 miles.)

The ride will end at Rheged but it is approximately 75 miles back to Newcastle. (256 miles.)

Share this article